Rotten Tomatoes

Movies / TV

    Celebrity

      No Results Found

      View All
      Movies Tv shows Shop News Showtimes

      Why Didn't They Ask Evans?

      1980 3h 0m Mystery & Thriller List
      Reviews 70% Audience Score 1,000+ Ratings An aristocrat (Francesca Annis) and a vicar's (John Gielgud) son (James Warwick) chase murder clues around 1934 England. Read More Read Less

      Audience Reviews

      View All (11) audience reviews
      rob m Lots of twists in this one. Well done but the base story of the two people trying to be detectives gets a little grating. Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars 03/31/23 Full Review Audience Member love agatha christie Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars 01/21/23 Full Review Audience Member A faithful, but dry and drawn out adaptation of Agatha Christie's novel. Good for an evening of pop-tarts, hot chocolate, and mystery, not necessarily much cinema to admire. Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars 01/27/23 Full Review Audience Member Although the movie has merit for fans of Francesca Annis or Connie Booth, it has not stood the test of time... E.G... lines like "I say! You were so frightfully plucky!" Rated 2 out of 5 stars 02/01/23 Full Review Audience Member Incredibly faithful adaptation of Christie's novel... unfortunately, it is also incredibly drawn out... It might actually have benefited by trimming down some of the Christie's text. As for the mystery plot, has some interesting twists and turns, but it is fairly contrived overall (for instance, there is no reason why the dying man would utter those particular words - they are nothing more than a McGuffin to get the plot moving forward). This contrivance is not the filmmaker's fault but the original Christie novel, which stretched plausibility from the beginning. Still, interesting and entertaining. Highly recommended for Christie fans, solid recommendation for mystery fans, but only a mild recommendation for all others... Rated 3 out of 5 stars 02/03/23 Full Review Audience Member Brew some tea and curl up by the fire for murder, intrigue, and madcap upper-class high jinks in Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans? Rated 4 out of 5 stars 01/21/23 Full Review Read all reviews Post a rating

      Cast & Crew

      Movie Info

      Synopsis An aristocrat (Francesca Annis) and a vicar's (John Gielgud) son (James Warwick) chase murder clues around 1934 England.
      Director
      John Davies, Tony Wharmby
      Production Co
      London Weekend Television
      Genre
      Mystery & Thriller
      Original Language
      English
      Release Date (Streaming)
      Jun 12, 2020
      Runtime
      3h 0m