Rotten Tomatoes

Movies / TV


      No Results Found

      View All
      Movies Tv shows Shop News Showtimes

      Season 1 – Get Real

      1999 Comedy Drama List
      67% 9 Reviews Tomatometer Father knows squat. Mom, who caters on the side, wants her hubby to get romantic like in the old days. Dad's business is going to hell, and he doesn't pay enough attention to his wife or kids. Straight-A daughter Meghan has a secret life, while son Kenny gets beat up at school and Cameron is a hooligan. Read More Read Less

      Cast & Crew


      Episode 1 Aired Sep 8, 1999 Pilot Mitch and Mary Green ride herd on their high-school-age children. Details Episode 2 Aired Sep 15, 1999 Sexual Healing A therapist encourages Mitch and Mary to increase their intimacy; Kenny gets arrested when his interest in a new girl goes too far. Details Episode 3 Aired Sep 22, 1999 Passages Mary challenges a top caterer; Mitch regrets turning down a big promotion. Details Episode 4 Aired Sep 29, 1999 Stay Mitch is troubled by a friend's tragedy; Mary's catering plans cause confusion. Details Episode 5 Aired Oct 20, 1999 Anatomy of a Rumor Rumors claim that Meghan is pregnant; a deal with Cameron allows Kenny to kiss the girl of his dreams. Details Episode 6 Aired Oct 27, 1999 Performance Anxiety Worried about his date with Rebecca, Kenny turns to Meghan for advice; Cameron takes up scuba diving. Details Episode 7 Aired Nov 3, 1999 Prey Meghan feels betrayed by her teacher; Cameron realizes he is disrespectful toward women; Kenny's feelings for Rebecca grow deeper. Details Episode 8 Aired Nov 10, 1999 Big Numbers Mitch befriends a female building-inspector; Mary's news could permanently change the family's life. Details Episode 9 Aired Dec 15, 1999 Crime and Punishment The family deals with Mary's pregnancy; Meghan attends an underground party; Kenny wants to learn to drive. Details Episode 10 Aired Dec 22, 1999 Denial Cameron and Kenny work at a Christmas tree lot; Elizabeth misses the family holiday spirit; Mitch seeks his Jewish heritage. Details Episode 11 Aired Jan 12, 2000 Choices Meghan meets a new transfer student; Cameron wants to show his loyalty to the family; Mitch and Mary deal with the emotions of pregnancy. Details Episode 12 Aired Jan 19, 2000 Absolution Meghan's new love for Clay costs her Amy's friendship; Cameron's personal secret is leaked around school; Kenny thinks he is responsible for harming Mary. Details Episode 13 Aired Jan 26, 2000 Falling From Grace Meghan is involved in a dangerous school prank; Cameron deals with expulsion; Mitch wonders if Laura's business proposal is adulterous. Details Episode 14 Aired Feb 2, 2000 Tough Love Mitch's brother, running from the law, shows up; Meghan must tell Clay news about his father. Details Episode 15 Aired Mar 8, 2000 Waiting Kenny is in a potentially serious health crisis; Meghan and Clay grow closer. Details Episode 16 Aired Mar 15, 2000 Saved Mary's friend is involved in a violent crime; Clay considers a school across the country. Details Episode 17 Aired Mar 22, 2000 The Distance Mitch is angry when he learns about Meghan's sexual activity; Cameron tries to get back into school. Details Episode 18 Aired Mar 29, 2000 Guilt Meghan deals with unwanted sexual advances; Kenny celebrates Kimberly's birthday; guest Bill Nye. Details Episode 19 Aired Apr 5, 2000 Support System Mitch is concerned when no one is interested in buying his restaurant; Meghan sees a new side of Cameron. Details Episode 20 Aired Apr 12, 2000 History Lessons Mitch's father pays a surprise visit; Meghan sees a reckless side of Clay; Kenny makes a family video. Details

      Critics Reviews

      View All (9) Critics Reviews
      Eric Deggans Tampa Bay Times Dissing shows like Party of Five and Dawson's Creek even as it steals their thunder. Mar 30, 2021 Full Review Neal Justin Minneapolis Star Tribune The narration and pop-culture asides are fast, loose, and often very funny, especially when delivered by the sarcastic Jesse Eisenberg. Mar 30, 2021 Full Review Bill Goodykoontz Arizona Republic The great thing about television: With two good shows vying for your time at this hour already, you can skip this family comedy/drama with Fox attitude. Mar 27, 2021 Full Review Rob Owen Pittsburgh Post-Gazette "Get Real" is an occasionally funny show from the creator of "Parker Lewis Can't Lose." May 30, 2019 Full Review Tom Jicha South Florida Sun-Sentinel The characters are sufficiently fleshed out to sustain interest and the cast is first rate. Get Real will never get Emmy but there are worse ways to waste an hour. May 30, 2019 Full Review Sergio Pereira Screen Rant The comedy-drama explored the lives of the dysfunctional Green family... It only aired for 20 episodes, but there were some interesting topics discussed in that time. May 30, 2019 Full Review Read all reviews

      Audience Ratings

      View All (0) audience reviews
      There are no Verified Audience reviews for Get Real — Season 1 yet. Read All Audience Reviews
      Post a review

      Season Info

      Scott Winant
      Executive Producer
      Clyde Phillips
      Clyde Phillips
      Comedy, Drama
      Original Language
      Release Date
      Sep 8, 1999